Sindhu,Dipa,Sakshi and Jitu Rai receive Rajiv Ghandi Khel Ratna Award

rajivkhelThis was the first time in the history of National Sports Awards, four athletes were chosen for the Khel Ratna honour,owing to the three girls’ superlative show at the Rio Olympics.In 2009, two boxers Vijender Singh and Mary Com and wrestler Sushil Kumar were given Khel Ratna award together.

Today(29-08-16) PV Sindhu,Sakshi Malik and Dipa Karmakar were conferred India’s highest sporting honour of the country the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna along with Jitu Rai for their contribution in their respective fields in a gleaming awards ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi.

Awardees received the awards from the President of India Pranab Mukherjee.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award winners will receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5lakh along with a medal and a citation.The Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs 5.5Lakh along with statuettes, certificates.

Here is the full list of awardees :

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2016 :

Awardee Discipline
P.V.Sindhu Badminton
Sakshi Malik Wrestling
Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
Jitu Rai Shooting

Dronacharya Award 2016:

Awardee Discipline
Raj Kumar Sharma Cricket
Sagar Mal Dhayal Boxing
Nagapuri Ramesh Athletics
Bishweshwar Nandi Gymnastics
Mahabir Singh Wrestling(lifetime)
S. Pradeep Kumar Swimming(lifetime)

Arjuna Awards 2016 :

Awardee Discipline
Ajinkya Rahane Cricket
Rani Hockey
V R Raghunath Hockey
Shiva Thapa Boxing
Lalita Babar Athletics
Rajat Chauhan Archery
Subrata Paul Football
Apurvi Chandela Shooting
Gurpreet Singh Shooting
Vinesh Poghat Wrestling
Amit Kumar Wrestling
Sandeep Singh Mann Para-Athletics
Virender Singh Wrestling(deaf)

Dhyan Chand Award :

Awardee Discipline
Satti Geetha Athletics
Shri Sylvanus Dung Dung Hockey
Shri Rajendra Pralhad Shelke Rowing