Ravichandran Ashwin named ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year

Ravichandran Ashwin named ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year: Indian cricket all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin named the ICC cricketer of the year and test cricketer of the year. He has been awarded the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as the International Cricket Council’s(ICC) Test Player of 2016.Now Ashwin becomes the third Indian to win the ICC’s Sir Garfield Sobers trophy following Rahul Dravid(2004) and Sachin Tendulkar(2010).

Quinton de Kock named the ODI Cricketer of the Year. The Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq, won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award, Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman named the ICC Emerging Cricketer, West Indian Carlos Brathwaite was awarded the ICC T20 International Performance of the Year for his brilliance knock in the World T20 final. Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad was named the ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year. And in the umpires category Marais Erasmus, who won the ICC Umpire of the Year.

The right-arm off-spinner Ashwin picked up 48 wickets in 8 test matches at an average of 15.39 and also scored 338 runs with the bat at an average of 42 during the voting period from 14 September 2015 to 20 September 2016.

In the Test team of the Year also Ashwin named along with David Warner, Alastair Cook (c), Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Adam Voges, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Stokes, Rangana Herath, Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn and Steve Smith.

Indian star player Virat Kohli was named the skipper of the ODI team of the tear. His team players are Warner, Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma, AB de Villiers, Jos Buttler, Mitchell Marsh, Ravindra Jadeja, Starc, Kagiso Rabada, Sunil Narine and Imran Tahir.

ICC Women’s team of the Year 2016: Smriti Mandhana(IND),  Suzie Bates, Rachael Priest (wk), Stafanie Taylor (c), Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight, Deandra Dottin, Sune Luus, Anya Shrubsole, Leigh Kasperek and Kim Garth (12th).